Frequently asked questions about secure file transfer with TeamBeam

Tips and hints - getting started with TeamBeamTo make sure that TeamBeam seamlessly integrates into your existing workflow right from the start, we have compiled a number of tips and hints in our brochure “Getting started”. You can download the free PDF by clicking here.


TeamBeam provides maximum protection for data transfers and data storage.

Our data transfer solution for companies is significantly more secure than FTP, e-mail and some of the Cloud services available on the market. All data is transferred in encrypted format and stored on Servers located in Germany, in compliance with German Federal data protection law (BDSG). For enhanced security, transfers can be protected with a password.

How does TeamBeam handle the temporary storage of transferred data?

All data is securely stored on encrypted hard disks. Data is encrypted using the AES-XTS-Plain64 cipher with a key size of 256 bits. Skalio always uses dedicated servers, to which only Skalio employees have access.

What are the precise details of the encryption method used for TeamBeam data transfers?

TeamBeam uses SSL encryption (AES 256 bit or equivalent) for transfers in either direction (upload + download). The data is securely transferred via HTTPS. The SSL/TLS configuration received an A-rating from the SSL Labs: The TeamBeam mail server supports the TLS protocol so that e-mails are also encrypted as long as the receiving mail server supports TLS.

How do you prevent unauthorised access to my data transfers?

As soon as a transfer is successfully uploaded, an e-mail notification is sent to every recipient. The notification mail contains a specific URL, at which the transfer can be downloaded. The link consists of a long combination of letters and digits, which is impossible to guess. For enhanced security, the transfer can be protected with a password, in which case the files can only be downloaded after the correct password has been entered. Passwords are always transmitted in encrypted form.

How do you ensure that my individual login / password combination is safe?

When registering for a TeamBeam account, users choose their own password. In addition to this, TeamBeam also supports customised password guidelines. Passwords will always be stored in an encrypted form. If it is necessary to reset a password, a user can request a temporary recover link to do so. Only administrators can assign a new e-mail address to an existing user.

Virus protection

For added security, every product variant can be enhanced with a cost-effective malware protection program. If this option is installed, every transfer is automatically scanned for malware. Infected transfers are clearly marked, and a notification e-mail informs both the sender and the recipient about the infected file(s).

General information:

TeamBeam offers many convenient features but still remains easy to operate. To make TeamBeam suitable for every need, users can choose between a Java Webstart Client or their browser to transfer large data.

What distinguishes the Java Web Start Client from the browser-based solution?

The Java Webstart Client supports additional features such as an import function for local address books (Outlook, Mac Mail) or a resume upload function which deals with connection issues automatically and continues interrupted transfers as soon as the network becomes available again. The Client requires Java, whereas the browser-based solution has no special requirements. Receiving files via TeamBeam only requires a browser, it is not necessary that Java is installed on the recipient´s computer.

Can I rely on the availability of the service?

Absolutely - we guarantee a 99% availability level for all TeamBeam servers. In order to ensure this, TeamBeam is run exclusively on high-performance servers from a German data centre operator. The many redundant internet connections to the largest German internet exchange, DE-CIX, as well as a direct connection to the Telekom ensure smooth operation of the TeamBeam Service all the time.

How quickly can I transfer data using TeamBeam?

TeamBeam uses the maximum transmission rate available at your business premises. If, for example, your upstream rate is 1024 kBit/s, transferring a 50 MB file will be done in 8 to 9 minutes. If neccessary, the upload rate can be capped in the TeamBeam settings.

We employ several external agencies, is it possible to integrate them into our workflow?

Yes, absolutely. You can add new users to your TeamBeam using a convenient administration tool.

Can I transfer several files at once?

Of course. You can also choose to transfer files successively, starting with File A and then sending file B with a few minutes delay. TeamBeam integrates seamlessly into your business processes – not the other way round.

How can I keep track of my recent transfers?

You can access all your data transfers comfortably via My.TeamBeam, your personal data portal. There you can view all sent and received data transfers and, if required, open them directly. In addition, you may extend the duration period of each transfer, forward transfers without having to upload them again or create a deeplink to directly access transfers. If the option “TeamBeam Drive” is installed, you can also save your transfers to your online hard disk for permanent storage.

What happens if the connection is interrupted during the transfer process?

This not a problem. If the connection is interrupted or disconnected, TeamBeam will automatically pause the upload without losing any data. As soon as the connection is re-established, the upload will automatically be continued at the point at which the connection was lost. There is no need to upload data twice.

How can I tell if my transfer has reached the recipient?

As soon as the recipient clicks on the download link you will receive an e-mail notification. This ensures that you are always up to date and it helps you to monitor your workflow.

What happens if a recipient does not access the files that he has received?

After a set time, a notification e-mail will inform both, sender and recipient, about the fact that the transfer has not been downloaded yet. This gives you the opportunity to send a reminder, if you wish to do so. Furthermore, you can easily extend the duration period without having to upload the files again. Should the transfer expire nevertheless, you will also be notified by e-mail.

Is it also possible to transfer files to recipients without a TeamBeam account?

Yes, absolutely. Any person who has an e-mail account can receive transfers via TeamBeam. The recipient is notified by e-mail, and this mail contains a clickable link for downloading the files that are included in the transfer.

Is there a maximum file size that TeamBeam can transfer?

TeamBeam is a solution which is especially designed for sending and receiving large files. Currently you can transfer files up to 16 TB. If you wish to transfer files exceeding 16 TB in size, please contact us.

Can I upgrade TeamBeam?

Of course! Should you require enhanced server performance (e.g. for larger transfers) or additional services such as the online hard disk TeamBeam Drive, then please don´t hesitate to contact us.

How can we help you?

TeamBeam CORPORATE trial

Request free trial

Order TeamBeam

Open order form

Contact request Business-Service

Request individual consulting

Häufig gestellte Fragen zum sicheren Datentransfer mit TeamBeam

Tips und Tricks zum StartDamit sich TeamBeam von Anfang an nahtlos in Ihren Arbeitsablauf integriert, haben wir einige Tipps und Tricks zusammengestellt. Sie können diese hier kostenlos downloaden.

Sicherheit

TeamBeam bietet Ihnen maximalen Schutz für die Datenübertragung und -lagerung.

Somit ist TeamBeam eine deutlich sicherere Lösung als FTP, E-Mail und einige am Markt angebotene Cloud-Lösungen. Alle Transfers werden verschlüsselt übertragen. Die Speicherung erfolgt datenschutzkonform und verschlüsselt auf deutschen Servern. Jeder Transfer lässt sich zusätzlich mit einem Passwort schützen.

Wie sicher ist die temporäre Speicherung meiner Datentransfers?

Alle Transferdaten werden serverseitig verschlüsselt gespeichert. Als Chiffre wird AES-XTS-Plain64 verwendet, die Keysize beträgt 256 Bit. Es kommen ausschließlich dedizierte Server zum Einsatz, auf die nur Skalio-Mitarbeiter Zugriff haben.

Wie genau sieht die Verschlüsselung der Datentransfers über TeamBeam aus?

TeamBeam verwendet SSL-Verschlüsselung (AES 256 bit oder adäquat) bei der Übertragung in beide Richtungen (Upload + Download). Der Transfer erfolgt über das Protokoll HTTPS. Die SSL/TLS-Konfiguration wurde von den SSL Labs mit einem A-Rating versehen. Für zusätzliche Sicherheit werden auch die Benachrichtigungsmails verschlüsselt übertragen, sofern der empfangende Mailserver das TLS-Protokoll unterstützt.

Wie ist sichergestellt, dass niemand unbefugt auf meinen Datentransfer zugreifen kann?

Datenempfänger werden per E-Mail über neue Transfers benachrichtigt. Der Download erfolgt über individuelle URLs, die lange nicht zu erratende Zahlen/Buchstabenkombinationen enthalten. Zusätzlich kann der Sender einen Transfer optional mit einem Transferpasswort versehen. Der Zugriff auf die Daten ist dann nur durch Eingabe des Passwortes möglich. Passwörter werden grundsätzlich verschlüsselt übertragen.

Welche Sicherheitsmassnahmen gibt es für meine individuelle Login-/Passwortkombination?

Das Passwort kann vom Anwender selbst gewählt werden. Auch individuelle Passwortrichtlinien werden von TeamBeam unterstützt. Passwörter werden grundsätzlich nicht als reiner Text, sondern verschlüsselt gespeichert. Sollten Sie Ihr Passwort vergessen haben, können Sie dieses über einen zeitlich befristeten Recovery-Link zurücksetzen. Eine Änderung der E- Mail-Adresse kann vom Anwender nicht selbst vorgenommen werden, diese Funktion ist nur für den jeweiligen Administrator vorgesehen.

Schadprogramm-Schutz

Bei erhöhtem Sicherheitsbedarf lässt sich jede kostenpflichtige TeamBeam-Variante um einen umfassenden serverseitigen Sicherheitsprüfung auf Malware, Viren und Trojaner. Bei einem positiven Befund wird der Transfer eindeutig markiert und eine Warnung an Sender und Empfänger verschickt.

Allgemeine Informationen:

TeamBeam bietet viele komfortable Features und bleibt dabei trotzdem einfach in der Bedienung. Als Benutzer können Sie wählen, ob Sie Ihre Daten per Java Webstart-Client oder direkt über Ihren Browser übertragen möchten.

Was genau ist der Unterschied zwischen dem Java Webstart-Client und der Datenübertragung per Browser?

Der Java Webstart-Client unterstützt zusätzliche Features wie z.B. die Integration lokaler Adressbücher aus Outlook und Mac Mail oder die Beschränkung der Bandbreite für den Datentransfer. Für die Nutzung des Clients wird Java vorausgesetzt. Der Browser-Upload hat keine besonderen Voraussetzungen. Der Download beim Empfänger erfolgt in jedem Fall über den Browser und ist ohne Java möglich.

Kann ich mich darauf verlassen, dass der Service jederzeit erreichbar ist?

Wir garantieren Ihnen für alle TeamBeam-Server eine Verfügbarkeit von 99%. Um dies zu gewährleisten, kommen für den Betrieb von TeamBeam ausschließlich Hochleistungsserver von einem deutschen Rechenzentrumsbetreiber zum Einsatz. Die vielfach redundanten Internet- Anbindungen, darunter auch an den größten deutschen Austauschknoten DE-CIX sowie die direkte Anbindung zur Telekom, sorgen für einen reibungslosen Betrieb.

Wie schnell kann ich mit TeamBeam Daten übertragen?

TeamBeam nutzt die maximale Übertragungsrate aus, die an Ihrem Arbeitsplatz verfügbar ist. Wenn Sie beispielsweise über eine Upstream-Rate von 1024 kBit/s verfügen, können Sie eine 50 MB große Datei in etwa 8-9 Minuten übertragen. Im TeamBeam-Client lässt sich die Upload-Rate unter "Einstellungen" beschränken, falls gewünscht.

Für uns arbeiten mehrere Agenturen. Kann ich mit TeamBeam alle Projektbeteiligten integrieren?

Ja, problemlos. Über ein komfortables Administrations-Tool können Sie bequem neue Nutzer in Ihr TeamBeam integrieren.

Kann ich mehrere Dateien gleichzeitig übertragen?

Selbstverständlich. Sie können auch versetzt Daten übertragen: Sie beginnen zunächst mit Datei A und schicken 5 Minuten Datei B hinterher. TeamBeam passt sich Ihrem Arbeitsfluss an - nicht umgekehrt.

Wie kann ich kontrollieren, welche Daten ich in der letzten Zeit übertragen habe?

Über Ihr persönliches Datenportal My.TeamBeam haben Sie bequem Zugriff auf alle Ihre TeamBeam-Transfers. Sie können sich alle gesendeten und erhaltenen Transfers ansehen und sie bei Bedarf gleich abrufen. Darüber hinaus bietet My.TeamBeam die Möglichkeit, Transfers zu verlängern, weiterzuleiten oder einen Direktlink auf den Transfer zu erstellen. Nutzer der Online-Festplatte TeamBeam Drive können ihre Transfers ausserdem bequem von dort aus in ihr Drive kopieren um diese dort ohne zeitliches Ablaufdatum zu speichern.

Was passiert, wenn meine Internetverbindung abbricht, obwohl meine Daten noch nicht komplett hochgeladen wurden?

Kein Problem - sobald Ihre Internetverbindung wieder funktioniert, nimmt TeamBeam den Upload automatisch wieder auf. Und zwar genau an der Stelle, an der abgebrochen wurde. Sie müssen also nichts doppelt hochladen.

Wie finde ich heraus, ob die Datei bei Empfänger angekommen ist?

Sobald der Empfänger den Download-Link anklickt, erhalten Sie per E-Mail eine Benachrichtigung. So sind Sie immer auf dem aktuellen Stand und können Ihre Prozesse kontrollieren.

Was passiert, wenn der Empfänger die gesendete Datei nicht abruft?

Bevor ein Transfer abläuft, werden sowohl der Sender als auch der Empfänger per E-Mail gewarnt. Der Transfer kann dann ohne erneuten Upload verlängert werden. Sollte der Transfer bis zum Verfallsdatum nicht vom Empfänger abgerufen worden sein wird dies dem Sender ebenfalls per E-Mail mitgeteilt.

Kann ich Daten nur an Empfänger senden, die ebenfalls TeamBeam benutzen?

Sie können Daten an beliebige Empfänger versenden - TeamBeam verschickt Download-Links per E-Mail, die der Empfänger nur noch anklicken muss. Sichere TeamBeam-Datentransfers können also von jedem Besitzer eines E-Mail-Kontos empfangen werden.

Gibt es eine maximale Dateigröße für den Transfer per TeamBeam?

TeamBeam ist eine Lösung die speziell entwickelt wurde um große Dateien sicher zu verschicken. Momentan können Sie mit TeamBeam bis zu 16 TB große Dateien austauschen. Falls Sie an größeren Transfers interessiert sind, sprechen Sie uns bitte an.

Kann ich TeamBeam erweitern?

Natürlich! Falls Sie einen leistungsfähigeren Server benötigen, um größere Datenmengen zu verschicken, oder Zusatzoptionen wie die Online-Festplatte TeamBeam Drive einsetzen möchten, sprechen Sie uns gern an.

Wie können wir Ihnen helfen?

TeamBeam CORPORATE testen

Kostenlosen Test anfordern

TeamBeam bestellen

Zum Bestellformular

Anfrage Business-Service

Individuelle Beratung anfordern